Senate District 9

SD 9 is based on an almost perfect nesting of AD 15 and AD 18 and unites cities in Contra Costa and Alameda counties along the 880 corridor, a major urban thoroughfare for commuter traffic and for commercial freight through the Port of Oakland and Oakland International Airport. Anchor communities include Richmond, Berkeley, Oakland, and San Leandro. By nesting, this district reunites Oakland, connects regional park interests, and respects the Bay Bridge boundary and that of the East Bay Hills.