California ‘poverty penalty’ fee disproportionately impacts poor and non-white residents, report finds

March 3, 2022

“These assessments not only don’t work, they also disproportionately harm Black and Brown Californians, because they’re more likely to be targeted for minor traffic violations,” state Sen. Nancy Skinner, D-Berkeley, said in a statement.

The report said California’s late-payment fees are far higher than those in most other states — a maximum of $30 in Delaware, for example. Someone who runs a red light in California, then fails to pay the ticket on time, can be charged $538 in fines and fees in California, compared with $234 in Texas and $112 in New Hampshire, the report said.

 

For the full report, click here.