A plan to offer COVID-19 survivor benefits could pave the way for California ‘baby bonds’

December 31, 2021

California children who have lost a parent to COVID-19 could receive up to $5,000 in state-issued trust funds under a bill to be introduced in the Legislature next week, a proposal that suggests the state subsidy might later be expanded to a “baby bonds” program for children living in poverty.

The legislation authored by state Sen. Nancy Skinner (D-Berkeley) would give up to $3,000 to designated low-income children under 9 years old and up to $5,000 for children between the ages of 10 and 17 if a parent or guardian has died from COVID-19.

 

For the full report, click here.