California Senate Passes Senator Skinner’s Electrify California Ride-hailing (E-CAr) Legislation

May 31, 2018

California Senate Passes Senator Skinner’s Electrify California Ride-hailing (E-CAr) Legislation

Today the California State Senate approved Senator Nancy Skinner’s (D-Berkeley) E-CAr legislation, SB 1014. E-CAr, which stands for Electrify California Ride-hailing, would accelerate the uptake of electric vehicles and other zero-emission vehicles (ZEVs) deployed by ride-hailing services like Uber and Lyft. Skinner’s legislation would set zero-emission targets for passenger or vehicle miles traveled as a result of rides arranged through Transportation Network Companies (TNCs).

“Tailpipe emissions from fossil fueled vehicles are still the largest source of air and climate pollution; SB 1014 enlists ride-hailing services like Uber and Lyft in our state wide effort to increase electric and other zero-emission vehicles on our roads,” said Senator Skinner. 

SB 1014, E-CAr, establishes “clean mile” targets for the trips deployed by TNC/ride hailing companies. These targets specify that 20 percent of total TNC passenger or vehicle miles must be “clean” meaning driven by ZEVs by the end of 2023 and 50 percent by the end of 2026. The bill also proposes a 100 percent ZEV target only for vehicles owned or leased by TNCs, to be achieved by 2030.

Skinner’s E-CAr legislation is only her most recent action on ZEVs. Last year, the Senator authored SB 498 to jumpstart ZEV adoption by the state’s vehicle fleets mandating that 50 percent of light-duty state-owned vehicles be ZEV by 2025. These actions build on Governor Brown’s recent Executive Order that set a goal of 5 million ZEVs on California roads by 2030.

“The health of our air and our climate requires we move toward zero-emission vehicles quickly,” said Skinner. “E-CAr recognizes the rapid rise in ride-hailing services to help us make sure that happens.”

Senator Nancy Skinner (@NancySkinnerCA) represents the 9th Senate District. She serves as Chair of the Senate Public Safety Committee and the Budget Subcommittee on Corrections, Public Safety and the Judiciary.